The Northumberland County Official Plan establishes land use categories and policies to manage growth and protect resources within the County until the year 2034.

Land use categories are displayed on maps. The policies describe the County's goals for these categories and the types of information they need to evaluate land use changes.

Land use categories in the Northumberland County Official Plan include:

  • Urban Areas
  • Rural Areas
  • Rural Settlement Areas
  • Agricultural Areas
  • Oak Ridges Moraine
  • Environmental Protection Areas

Download the maps and policies from the Northumberland County Official Plan: