• President: Edith Kift
  • Past President: Olivia Gibbs
  • Secretary: Ashley Woodcock
  • Treasurer: Barbara Stanners

For more information, please contact the Grafton Horticultural Society or learn more about the Ontario Horticultural Association (OHA).

About Us

Grafton Horticultural Society is dedicated to improving the beauty of the Grafton area. Members maintain four gardens in the community - Wicklow Memorial Park, Haldimand Court Apartments, Town Hall and Grafton Heritage Park. In 2008 the Society created the Grafton Heritage Park in the centre of the village which includes native, rock, woodland and scented areas as well as historical information.

Our Horticultural Society was renamed in 2002 to the Grafton Horticultural Society due to the amalgamation of the Alnwick and Haldimand Townships. The original society was organized and named South Haldimand Horticultural Society on April 9, 1925 and then renamed in 1996 to the Haldimand Township Horticultural Society.  We rebranded ourselves to Grafton Green Thumbs in 2018. The first President was William Heenan, a local greenhouse operator, and Mrs. J.C. Hutchison the first Secretary. The first flower show was held on August 29, 1925.

Our meetings take place the second Tuesday of the month at St. Andrew's United Church, 137 Old Danforth Road, Grafton at 7:00 p.m. for refreshments and fellowship with meeting beginning at 7:30 p.m. unless otherwise noted. We have interesting speakers, two flower shows and a plant sale.

Please join us at our monthly meetings and special events.

Five children standing with shovels and smiling

Youth Program

We have a youth program which has been active since 1969. They currently meet at Grafton Public School in the greenhouse and are fortunate to have been given an area on the school grounds for a garden where we have seven raised beds.  Vegetables grown in the garden are donated to Fare Share in Cobourg.

Awards Evening

Youth awards are presented in October during our Society's regular meeting. The adult competition awards and prizes are presented in December during our Christmas pot luck.

Social Events

The Society's annual programme includes opportunities to share a meal with and get to know fellow members. For a small fee you can enjoy delicious chili supper in January which includes a speaker.  There is a summertime pot luck held at a member's home and a Christmas pot luck dinner.


woman standing in front of poster titled "Ontario Volunteer Service Awards"

Barbara Stanners

Service Certificates

A Society can nominate one person per year for this certificate.

The criteria for this award are ten or more years of active membership in a Society, service on Society committees, contributing time or effort to community improvements, encouraging membership enrollment, inspiring horticultural efforts of individuals or groups and having shown sincere interest in and supporting the objectives of a Horticultural Society. 

The following people have received this certificate:

Service Certificate Recipients
Year Recipient
1978 Joan Chalovich
1989 Doug Johnson
1996 Marianne Pitchler
2000 Carol Cragg
2001 Bertha Beatty
2002 Shirley Johnson
2003 John Liptay
2004 Gordon Ficko
2005 Bev. Silk
2006 Jennifer Darrell
2007 Rosemary Dignam
2008 Alex Ferguson
2013 Suzanne Liptay
2014 Anne Fenton
Life Membership

A Horticultural Society honour. Criteria includes long time membership in a Society, preferrably a minimum of 15 years, and continued interest in horticulture.

Life Membership Recipients
Year Recipient
1998 Bertha Beatty
1998 Shirley Johnston
1998 Doug Johnston
2000 Mary Harnden
2001 Murial Braham
2001 Bea Prentice
2002 Ted Beatty
2002 Joyce Bryant
2003 Carol Cragg
2003 Gordon Ficko
2003 Reni Parisius
2007 Rosemary Dignam
2016 Anne Fenton
2019 Bev. Silk


Silver Fir Award

Presented at the Annual OHA Convention to one gentleman per year from all of Ontario.

2001: Doug Johnson

Environmental Award

Presented at the Annual OHA Convention to one or more people or groups per year from all of Ontario.

2001: Bob Marshall

2002: Murial Braham

Award of Merit

Presented at the Annual OHA Convention to one or more people per year from all of Ontario.

2012: Bev. Silk 

Youth Award

Presented at the Annual OHA Convention to one person per year from all of Ontario.

2012: Bev. Silk

District 4 Service Certificate

Presented to one person per year from District 4 of the OHA.

2003: Bev. Silk

Hazel Wilson Award

Presented to one person per year from District 4 of the OHA.

2016: Bev. Silk

 25 Year Service Plan

Presented at the District 4 Annual General Meeting.

  • Carol Cragg
  • Shirley Johnston
  • Doug Johnston
  • Rosemary Dignam
  • Mary Harnden
  • Gordon Ficko
  • Bea Prentice
  • Bev. Silk

Websites of Interest