County launches online portal to accept and track septic system permit applications

Cobourg, ON – August 2, 2022 – Northumberland County has launched a new online septic permit application portal to offer applicants a remote, convenient and paper-free septic system permit process.

“We are pleased to now offer the option for applicants to submit their septic system permit applications online,” states County Land Use Planning and Inspection Services Manager Dwayne Campbell. “This online portal allows applicants to easily submit, purchase and track septic permit applications from any internet-connected computer or mobile device, at any time of day. This online portal will help streamline the permit process and offer a more convenient submission option for homeowners and industry professionals.”

Through this new online portal, applicants can create an account to:

  • submit and pay for applications
  • review the status of their applications
  • schedule inspections
  • view inspection results
  • track all applications from a remote location

In addition to the online portal, applications will continue to be accepted in-person or by email.

For more information about submitting a septic permit application, please visit

- 30 -


For more information:
Kate Campbell
Director, Communications
Northumberland County
Phone: 905-372-3329  x2335




About Northumberland County

Located on the traditional territory of the Mississauga, Northumberland County is a thriving community just one hour east of Toronto along Highway 401, with easy access to urban centres to the north, east and west. As the upper tier level of municipal government for the region, Northumberland County’s vision is to bring together people, partnerships and possibilities for a strong and vi­brant Northumberland. Our community includes seven distinct yet comple­mentary municipalities, with County Council comprised of the Mayors of each of these member municipalities:

• Township of Alnwick/Haldimand

• Municipality of Brighton

• Town of Cobourg

• Township of Cramahe

• Township of Hamilton

• Municipality of Port Hope

• Municipality of Trent Hills